September 6–8, 2017


About cc:econ

Innovators are powering economic success by solving the challenges presented by climate change. Catalysts of the Climate Economy is a 3-day National Innovation Summit to bring together entrepreneurs, investors, and thought leaders to celebrate success and to gear up for the next stage of economic development and prosperity in a low-carbon future.

Day 1: Ignite Attend the opening keynote and celebration and enjoy a taste of local culture with Vermont food, drink, and live music.

Day 2: Accelerate Hear from leading Climate Economy innovators. Contribute ideas with peers. Collaborate and spark action.

Day 3: Explore Set off on a Vermont adventure to learn how the future of the Climate Economy happens here.

What is the Climate Economy?

Climate change is the defining issue of our time. We, as a people, face an unprecedented environmental challenge to change how we produce and use energy. This presents an economic opportunity as we pivot toward a low-carbon future. Answering climate change could be the greatest economic opportunity in world history. The Climate Economy includes key sectors such as clean energy development, thermal and electrical efficiencies, sustainable transportation systems, working lands, smart growth development, and many more. The Climate Economy is the economy of the future.

The Vermont Council on Rural Development

cc:econ is produced by the Vermont Council on Rural Development. VCRD is dedicated to the support of the locally-defined progress of Vermont's rural communities. From local, citizen-led efforts to policy councils that build collaboration between state, federal, nonprofit, and private sector leaders, VCRD brings Vermonters together across political lines and organizational boundaries to create a better future.

Summit production partners include:

Paul Costello and Jenna Koloski, Vermont Council on Rural Development
Ben Doyle, USDA Rural Development
Nate Hausman, Clean Energy Group / Clean Energy States Alliance
Kristin Carlson, Green Mountain Power
Linda McGinnis, Energy Action Network
Steve Nicholas, Institute for Sustainable Communities
Andrew Savage, AllEarth Renewables
Gaye Symington, High Meadows Fund
George Twigg, Congressman Peter Welch’s Office